Tow Car

in We've got it down to a T Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:40 pm
by Trroll (deleted)

I am considering changing my tow car as my Peugeot Partner Tepee 1600 does not appear up to pulling our Troll 540
I have been told I really need to consider a 2 litre engine.
Should I go for Deisel or Petrol
Manual or Automatic
I am considering the following
Skoda Yeti
Citroen Grand C4
Ford Galaxy
Volkswagen Touran
I need a tall boot for my garden tools as I am a professional gardener. So need height at the back. 5 doors is essential but not sliding doors as passengers often can't open them so any advice and what other Troll 540's are happy to push!

Scroll up

RE: Tow Car

in We've got it down to a T Wed Aug 30, 2017 11:59 pm
by eribaMotters | 5.289 Posts

I owned a Touran for 10 years and have had a Yeti now for three. The Touran was huge inside as you could remove the seats, as you can in the Yeti. The Touran was a good drive, but the Yeti is better. The Yeti is not however that big inside. Choice of box is down to personal choice, but dmf flywheels on manual versions of both in diesel form can be expensive. Ideally a 140 bhp dsg diesel would be a good choice.

Colin

Skoda Yeti diesel 2wd _ ex 430, 552, camplet trailer tent, 310, now a nice new white 430.
likes this post!
Scroll up

in We've got it down to a T Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:32 am
by Deeps (deleted)

Quote: eribaMotters wrote in post #2
The Touran was huge inside as you could remove the seats

Colin

Sadly with the newer version the seats are lighter but fixed in place.

Scroll up

in We've got it down to a T Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:37 am
by Frantone (deleted)

Ford Galaxy. Huge flat space for your garden tools but no spare wheel.

Troll 540GT (2013) gently nudging up against Galaxy.
likes this post!
Scroll up

in We've got it down to a T Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:56 am
by eribaMotters | 5.289 Posts

Sadly with the newer version the seats are lighter but fixed in place.
[/quote]