towing safety chains

in Anything Eriba-related Tue Mar 26, 2019 10:09 am
by nick13 (deleted)

I am preparing to take my recently acquired 1973 Pan Familia out for its first trip. As a total newbie to vans and towing I'm keen to make sure I don't make any foolish mistakes so I'd appreciate any advice on using safety chains and breakaway cables from you experienced towers.

My Pan has a breakaway cable that pulls on the van's brakes in the event that it becomes unhitched from the tow ball, but it also has a safety chain which I understand is intended to be also looped over the tow bar so that it will still keep the van loosely attached to the car in the event of unhitching.

My question is simple (if naive): if the van comes unhitched isn't there a risk that the now tensioned safety chain will prevent the breakaway cable from pulling tight and applying the brakes? I can see that they each serve different purposes (the chain to stop the van going AWOL, the cable to slow it down). I assume the safety chain should be long enough to allow the breakaway cable to tighten fully, but is there any best practice of attaching them to ensure that they both work as planned and don't interfere with each other?

Thanks for any advice.

Scroll up

RE: towing safety chains

in Anything Eriba-related Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:47 pm
by Randa france | 12.888 Posts

I'm no expert but in my opinion it's unusual to have both. Our non braked trailer has a safety chain, our Eriba has a brake away cable. I'm not sure how the Eriba will react with the two in place.

Randa

ERIBAFOLK POP UP EVERYWHERE 1999 Eriba Troll 530 pushing a VW Touran 2L TDi Match

Last edited Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:48 pm | Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:00 pm
by gattim (deleted)