Leave charger on continuously?

in Improving your pride and joy and how to fix things Fri Oct 23, 2020 7:42 pm
by davembk (deleted)

Hello all

Well we’ve had our Triton 430 for around 4 months now. It’s a 60 edition from Automotive Leisure. Been away in it 4 times. A few teething problems but all in all it’s going ok.

The only thing that’s playing on my mind at the moment is battery related.

It’s got the autonomy pack: a gel leisure battery and the csv 409 charger that also handles all the 12 v switching.
I’m not an expert on battery charging. On our previous van, an Abbey Iona which was 18 years old when we changed over to this current van, I’d got into habit of turning off the charger when on site and going out somewhere. My reasoning was that as I didn’t know if the charger was a maintenance charger then I’d better not let it run and run for fear of overcharging the battery. There was never any power where we stored it so there was no decision to make when not away in it.

The Eriba is set up differently, there is no separate control of the charger. If the charger is off then so is the 240v
So that had lead me to believe that it must be ok then to charge constantly otherwise they wouldn’t take that choice from you in not giving separate control.

But back home I now have to decide since we now have power.
Should I keep the csv409 on constantly? I suppose what I’m asking is, is it a maintenance charger or could it cook the battery if I keep it running and running when we’re not away.

I’ve just this minute read about CTek chargers. Maybe that’s the answer?
Unless the csv409 does the same?

Any comments gratefully accepted.

Scroll up

RE: Leave charger on continuously?

in Improving your pride and joy and how to fix things Fri Oct 23, 2020 7:54 pm
by Williebraveheart | 351 Posts

I leave mine on 24/7. This is a trickle charger similar to CTek.

Stewart

2019 Troll 535GT Fixed Bed. Mercedes GLA 220d 4Matic
likes this post!
Scroll up