Nose weight touran 2.0 L : packing and towing a puck safely

in We've got it down to a T Thu May 06, 2021 10:13 pm
by DJP | 22 Posts

Hello
I would like some advice about packing for towing.
We are 2 adults, 2 teens and four bikes and hoping to make it to France.
- should I invest in a nose weight guage?
Bikes are on the car roof. Small tent for the girls. Are we too ambitious?

I am a very boring driver ...

Alan and Steamdrivenandy like this post!
Scroll up

RE: Nose weight touran 2.0 L : packing and towing a puck safely

in We've got it down to a T Thu May 06, 2021 10:21 pm
by Alan | 77 Posts

I always use a weight guage to avoid that whipping up and down which is most annoying. I use around 60/65 kg which is great for me. Most times I have it right before weighing but better to be safe and I just use a cheap Kampa guage they are probably not the most accurate but better than none .

DJP likes this post!
Scroll up

in We've got it down to a T Thu May 06, 2021 10:21 pm
by eribaMotters | 5.304 Posts

All should be fine. We towed a 1300kg Troll with a 100 bhp 2L diesel Touran to the south of France. The 140 bhp model would have been nice. Do not buy an expensive nose gauge, get a cheap pair of bathroom scales instead. Sit the scales on a 400mm square of plywood on a hard ground surface. Lower the hitch onto a piece of 45mm square timber that stands vertically on the scales. Your Touran is hitch rated at 75kg but in the 10 years I towed 3 different Eriba's and a trailer tent I found 55/60kg was better.

Colin

aka Oscar - Audi A3 1.5 petrol _ ex 430, 552, camplet trailer tent, 310, now a nice white 2017 430.

Randa france and DJP like this post!
Last edited Thu May 06, 2021 10:22 pm | Scroll up

in We've got it down to a T Thu May 06, 2021 10:53 pm
by Steamdrivenandy | 997 Posts