Sink tap

in Improving your pride and joy and how to fix things Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:00 pm
by wooliew (deleted)

It seems the only time I come on this forum is when I have a problem I hope that someone else has met and knows the solution, the same this time. First the history. I have a 2014 Triton. The sink tap started leaking so decided the easiest solution was to replace the complete unit. I fitted the tap, connected everything up, filled the water can, opened the tap, hallelujah water came out, job done or so I thought. Within about ten minutes the cupboard filled the smoke, the insulation on the two wires going into the tap started to burn and melt. Oh dear says I. Contacted the tap supplier who rightfully said the two wires went to a micro switch in the tap and the problem must be external to the tap. I am a retired electrical engineer so know a little about electrics so checked the caravan cabling out and everything seemed okay. I bought a new tap, this one a slightly different model and installed, connected it up and everything seemed hunky dory. Took the caravan on a trip and everything was fine. Today, went to the caravan to flush the water system out prior to a trip, everything fine, then exactly the same happened as with the previous tap, the insulation on the tap wires burned out. I have isolated that circuit on the terminal block under the wardrobe, it tests out fine, so I am sure as I can be the problem isn’t with the caravan wiring, can anyone help/advise. Does anyone have an electrical circuit diagram for a Triton? Apologies for the convoluted story.

Last edited Wed Aug 03, 2022 5:02 pm | Scroll up

RE: Sink tap

in Improving your pride and joy and how to fix things Wed Aug 03, 2022 7:19 pm
by JohnE (deleted)

The connector block for the tap's microswitch will have a 2-core cable for the pump and a 2-core cable for the 12 supply.

Note that the wire colours are blue = 12V, brown = 0V.