Damp???

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Sep 25, 2019 3:42 pm
by maurice williams (deleted)

Hello
I am an Eriba noob. I hsve just bought a 1997 Triton TM. I bought it for two reasons one of which was build quality and their inherent resistance to damp.
Now this may seem like a daft question but what does damp smell like. The reason I ask this question is that there is a very obvious smell in my van but it is not a musty smell which you would associate with damp but a kind of perfumy sort of air freshener type smell. There was one of those horrible clicky air freshener things in the toilet and i just wonder if it has permeated the whole van. It has since been removed and thrown in the bin. But the smell persists.
Any help to a regrettably vague question folks.

Scroll up

RE: Damp???

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Sep 25, 2019 3:59 pm
by warddru0455 (deleted)

Could it be the fluid used in the toilet cassette. Some of them are heavily perfumed to overcome some what other noxious fumes.

Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Sep 25, 2019 4:08 pm
by Frantone (deleted)

I would be a little (very little) suspicious of what might be an attempt to conceal or disguise another odour. I suggest you open all windows, door, lockers and vents to remove the current perfume and then start diagnostic sniffing from scratch😃

Eriba Troll 540GT (#6) and Galaxy.
Don’t grow up.....it’s a trap!
Randa france, FINNWOODY, Pip1136 and addisb like this post!
Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Sep 25, 2019 5:26 pm
by Randa france | 12.888 Posts

It' so difficult to describe the "Eriba Smell" but it is there and in every van we visit, new or old.

I've just asked Mrs R and she describes it as a fresh, woody smell uncontaminated by polish, spray etc.

Randa

ERIBAFOLK POP UP EVERYWHERE 1999 Eriba Troll 530 pushing a VW Touran 2L TDi Match
Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:32 am
by Ray Lawrence | 668 Posts