Opinions on Carver 1800s pleases

in Anything Eriba-related Thu May 21, 2020 6:51 pm
by One Eyed Steve (deleted)

Hi guys. We bought our new-to-us Puck just before Christmas 2019. Parked it in the drive, covered it up and there it has stood ever since. Wet weather, floods and a pandemic put paid to all our plans.

Mustn’t grumble, I caught Covic19 and spent 8 days in intensive care and caught bilateral pneumonia to boot. For an old, fat, asthmatic it could have killed me so I am grateful to have things like the caravan to worry about.

We plan to use the little van all year around as we do Viking re-enactment, I decided to purchase a Carver 1800s from FleaBay and finally fitted it last week. Lock down and working from home has its advantages. Please don’t panic, I am an agricultural engineer with C&G qualifications and lecture on health and safety, so think I know how to install a calor gas heater without blowing myself up.

Anyway, having placed sandbags around the caravan, put blast tape on the house windows and made the wife and dog duck in their foxhole, I lit the heater. It worked perfectly first click. Plenty of heat, no funny smells and the CO meter detected nothing.

BUT, the base of the heater got hot after 20 minutes, With the pressed steel cover removed I could not keep my hand on it. Is this normal? There is no carpet under the heater but I did leave the original vinyl floor covering in place under the heater. I am maybe being over cautious, but I am not sure how hot the base should get. Have had similar heaters in other caravans over the years but never removed the cover and felt the temperature of the base.

Any help or observations very welcome.

Steve

Scroll up

RE: Opinions on Carver 1800s pleases

in Anything Eriba-related Thu May 21, 2020 7:08 pm
by Randa france | 12.886 Posts

Hi Steve and thanks for hanging on in there. Stay safe.