Gutter strip?

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Thu Jul 09, 2020 11:15 am
by spam66 (deleted)

Good morning all. Newbie here. Bought a Triton 420 yesterday. 😃 After much research, I’ve ordered a Sunncamp Swift Verao 260 Van awning. I keep reading about gutter strips. I don’t fully understand what it is, or if I need one. Please could someone explain?

Many thanks in advance.
Sam

Scroll up

RE: Gutter strip?

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Thu Jul 09, 2020 1:37 pm
by Captain Calamity | 346 Posts

Sam

I believe the gutter strip is recommended for Kampa Pop Air awnings because they have an inflated arch next to the van which can cause pooling of water between the awning and the van. Having said that, we have a Pop Air and have never fitted the strip - doesn't seem to affect us. Looking at pictures of your 260 van awning, you may be OK anyway. Others may comment.

Enjoy your travels. Good choice with the 420!!!

Capn C

likes this post!
Scroll up

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Thu Jul 09, 2020 5:46 pm
by eribaMotters | 5.319 Posts

Sam,
when we have used enclosed awnings that are pulled up higher than the awning rail we have used a gutter strip. It does help a little.
When we use our Sunncamp Swift we do not bother. It is not worth buying one for this type of protection as it is not a fully enclosed awning so any gain you did make would not be noticeable. You need to think of this as a decent lightweight keep it in the van solution to rainy weather on short stays. Be warned it does make a fair bit of noise as the top flaps about a fair bit. You should be able to see what I mean in the attached photo. It was pegged and tied down correctly.
Pair it with a 3m Isabella Shadow for sunny times and you are covered for most events
5-1600.jpg - Bild entfernt (keine Rechte)
Colin

aka Oscar - Audi A3 1.5 petrol _ ex 430, 552, camplet trailer tent, 310, now a nice white 2017 430.
likes this post!
Scroll up