Troll 540 awning advice from a total newbie

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Mon Aug 10, 2020 12:31 pm
by Macca (deleted)

Hi all
We have recently bought a Troll 540, our first ever caravan, total novice.
I have been using my camper drive away awning, which fits on no probs just does not seem to have the usable space some awnings have when walking round campsite. We tend to just store stuff in there.

I’ve looked at a couple of awnings Isabella/walker and the Kampa air.

Any advice on which would work best for our needs.
1 usable space as additional room.
2 easy to erect/stow
3 good value for money
4 robust.

I know it’s all personal choice, but any to steer clear of, probs etc would be helpful.
Thanks in advance.

Scroll up

RE: Troll 540 awning advice from a total newbie

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Mon Aug 10, 2020 12:59 pm
by eribaMotters | 5.310 Posts

The first question has to be do you really need an awning?

We have always owned an awning but do not use it unless we are pitched up for a week or longer. Then again we don't have children with us or dogs.
A Fiamma Caravanstore [3.1m] or Isabella Shadow Sunshade [3m] offer excellent protection from sun and are both pretty good in the rain, the Fiamma particularly so. If you want someting to give a bit better weather protection then the open fronted Sunncamp Swift is good value at about £120. They also do an enclosed version.
If you must have an awning, and it is a model specific fit for your van, then the Fortex [£2,000+] and Unico [£1800] look fantastic and the Fortex is huge.[My favourite]
The more traditional Isabella and Walker are both excellent awings, but again not cheap.
Blow up options are limited but I favour the latest Kampa Pop Air Pro [you need a 365] for value etc.
When it comes to awnings I have only once bought new a full size model specific awning as they are all expensive. If you can get good second hand I would advise you go this route.