420 dilemma

in Anything Eriba-related Thu Jul 15, 2021 5:31 pm
by wooddude (deleted)

We're interested in buying a second hand 420 to replace our '83 Familia , as we need a loo and longer beds - the joys of old age! Seen a good one but it was EHU only, and we've since been told a 420 with EHU and battery power might be hard to come by. We do a fair amount of off grid , so battery power is a must. Has anyone out there added battery power to a 420 and if so was it easy? Or even better- got one for sale?!!! Cheers wooddude

Randa france likes this post!
Last edited Thu Jul 15, 2021 10:18 pm | Scroll up

RE: 420 dilema

in Anything Eriba-related Thu Jul 15, 2021 6:09 pm
by Randa france | 12.889 Posts

Hi Colin. I'm no expert but I do remember the days of split relays for cars/caravans in the 70s. In those days the split relay and additional battery was carried in the tow car boot and the second battery was removed from the boot and temporarily mounted into the caravan for the duration of the stay.

The following videos seem to have an up to date "Take" on the subject but are obviously in a campervan. If you were to follow this simple installation I don't know how you would link the car's battery charging system to the Eriba.

Perhaps someone else will know if its possible.

Randa

ERIBAFOLK POP UP EVERYWHERE 1999 Eriba Troll 530 pushing a VW Touran 2L TDi Match

Last edited Thu Jul 15, 2021 6:12 pm | Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Thu Jul 15, 2021 7:27 pm
by Just_Chilin (deleted)

If you had to fit your own battery system I'd be inclined to fit what is supplied with a new van:

* A Schaudt CS409A batter charger (with solar input if needed - useful if off grid for a long time: €250 plus shipping/taxes)
* A Varta LA95 battery (£200)
* A 50A Fuse/holder (£5)
* A 100A isolator switch (£6)

Above are guide prices - you can always buy cheaper of course