New Troll 530 water supply question

in Anything Eriba-related Mon Jun 13, 2022 11:00 pm
by ajsms999 | 41 Posts

Hello Everyone,

We are new to the forum & also new to caravanning in total.
We recently picked up a new 2022 530 60yr edition (from Red Lion in Southport).We understand that they are a newly appointed dealer, but have to say the service they gave us (being complete newbies) was excellent.
However I should stop rambling & get on to my problem/question.
Our caravan is configured with a 40l internal water tank & also a comet external pump connection (pipework & pump supplied). Red Lion suggested that this pump was for filling the onboard tank from an aquaroll or similar. Suggesting that the external pump is switched on by the manual switch located in the comet housing.
We have just returned from our first few days away & can report that this is not how it operates.

What I am certain of is as follows:

The external switch controls the internal pump - without it being switched on there is no water at any tap or shower.
The external pump (if connected) runs whenever a tap is opened, regardless of the position of the external switch.
If the external switch is on - both pumps run when a tap requests water, the internal tank empties quicker than the aquaroll. When you turn the tap off the water from the internal tank backfills the aqua roll & overflows until the internal tank is empty.
If we connect the external pump & don't switch the internal pump on, water is supplied from the aquaroll but again when resting the internal tank backfills the aquaroll, overflowing until empty.

I have read the manual several times & can't find any detail on how this 'optional feature' should operate.

Does anyone else have this option and can confirm how it should work?
Also I have a water drain cock (plastic fitting with a blue screw head) located near to the internal tank which is leaking (very) slightly. Does anyone know where I can buy a replacement?