Storing a vintage (1975) Eriba

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Jun 14, 2023 5:48 pm
by Barmybeetroot (deleted)

Hi Everyone.

I've recently acquired a mint 1975 Eriba Familia named Ruby and she's fantastic!

At the moment she is stored on grass, at a farm with storage space for caravans, but up until this point the previous owners kept her in a barn, with a protec cover on.

How do you all store your vintage Eribas?

I was thinking i'd like to find indoor shelter for her, but one place I rang told me that Eriba's aren't insulated, and they had one stored undercover that went mouldy, so they no longer agree to store them inside! (This was in an old railway tunnel) He also said not to use the protec cover, as i'd get the same problem, and it's best to keep them outside. I'm just concerned if she's kept outside, she'll get more weathered, and require more maintenance, cleaning, rust etc. I'm new to all of this, so perhaps overthinking slightly, I just want to do right by Ruby!

Any advice welcome, on how much success you have with your storage method, and tips and tricks welcome, especially your over winter routines.

Another tip the person I called told me was to buy some of those interior dehumidifiers that B&M sell, as these are great at absorbing moisture.

Scroll up

RE: Storing a vintage (1975) Eriba

in Anything Eriba-related Wed Jun 14, 2023 10:14 pm
by eribaMotters | 5.403 Posts

It does not sound like you have been given sound advice.
An old Eriba does have insulation but this is obviously not up to the same level as a modern van..
I would say storage in an old railway tunnel would not really be ideal, as it would be damp.
A dry barn or garage is the best place for your Eriba.
If you have to keep it outside then covers are a good idea and will protect the van from the elements and UV damage to rubbers and fabric.
The ideal would be in a garage with a cover on. This is how I've been luck enough to store my vans until our recent move.