Complete novice looking for inspiration!

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Mon Jul 31, 2023 7:05 pm
by Tim Thompson (deleted)

Hi Folks,

Completely new to caravans, but have camped several times over the last few years. Looking for some awning inspiration to go with a Triton. Budget of £1000-1500.

Not sure what’s good and what’s not? Steel poles, carbon fibre or air? What’s good value for money (expensive doesn’t always mean good value)? The main test will be pleasing Mrs T, so good quality, robust and durable. Nothing that will only last a year or so and nothing that’ll look tatty! We’re fit and active, so weight and bulk not so much of an issue.

Happy to take all advice, as looking at prices, mistakes could be costly!

TVM 😎

Randa france likes this post!
Scroll up

RE: Complete novice looking for inspiration!

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Mon Jul 31, 2023 8:11 pm
by eribaMotters | 5.315 Posts

Tim, the first question is do you really need an awning.

If the answer is you need space, stay on pitches for more than a few days and do not mind the inconvenience of weight and pitching up then you do.
The very best out there is a Fortex or Unico. These are about £2,500 - £3,000 new, if you can get one delivered to the UK. Second hand they do come up occasionally and £600 - £800 should be the most you would pay.
If you had to buy new and do not want a traditional frame tent style then I'd look at the Kampa Pop Air 340, with optional front canopy.

If the answer is no, then save yourself a lot of money and hassle. Get a 3m Isabella Shadow Sunshade and something like a Vango Siesta lightweight blow up awning. At 3.1 x 2.5m it is still a reasonable size.

Colin

Forum Moderator. aka Oscar - Audi A3 1.5 petrol - oh dear me, I've gone to the darkish side and bought a Feeling after 4 Tourings
Scroll up

in Making the most of that expensive pitch Mon Jul 31, 2023 8:28 pm
by Captain Calamity | 343 Posts