Troll 540 Door

in Anything Eriba-related Sat Sep 24, 2016 2:27 pm
by norfolk wanderers (deleted)

As fairly new owners of said 540 Troll, I was rather surprised how easily the door jumps off the hinges if one tries to lock it back against the rubber door catch vigorously. Is this common? Also the understanding that once opened anybody can walk up and simply lift the door off.

Any views on how to make it secure while opened?

Thanks Norfolk Wanderers.

Scroll up

RE: Troll 540 Door

in Anything Eriba-related Sat Sep 24, 2016 5:05 pm
by Randa france | 12.886 Posts

Hi Linda and Ian.

Although I've no first hand experience of this I have heard of doors coming off before. What age is your Troll?

Randa

1999 Eriba Troll 530 pushing a VW Touran 2L TDi Match

Last edited Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:40 pm | Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Sat Sep 24, 2016 5:44 pm
by norfolk wanderers (deleted)

thanks for rapid response, the van is Feb 2016. It is not wear causing this. I now carefully "adjust" to the clip, all is ok. Linda was caught out because she tried to lift the door to make up the difference in heights (only a couple of mm's) and ended up with (what could only be funny after the event) the door in her hands sitting on the grass.

I looked at the fixings, there does not seem to be any slide adjustment available. I believe that the door has been fixed slightly below the point where it should be. In the best guess options, I have fitted a thicker washer on the hinge pin, which seems to work alright. The door is easaier to shut fully now.

regards Ian

Randa france likes this post!
Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Sat Sep 24, 2016 7:33 pm
by Pepé Le Pew | 2.722 Posts

Quote: Randa france wrote in post #2
Although I've no first hand experience of this I have heard of doors coming off before.