Towing mirrors - Am I going to regret this?

in Anything Eriba-related Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:20 am
by Kam | 139 Posts

039B499F-C839-4B1E-9AA1-2A9A68EB2B19.jpeg - Bild entfernt (keine Rechte)Towing mirrors. Do you need them?

I have been towing without towing mirrors for 3 years now. I know a lot of people say towing mirrors are a must, and I’ve been thinking about getting some, but am trying to take a less is more approach to kit.

I’ve always felt my view behind is fine. I tow my Troll 540 with a Volvo XC60. The Volvo is the same width as the Troll (virtually to the millimetre) and the mirrors stick out further. I am aware that it’s legally required to have a field of view that is 4 metres wide from 20 metres back. I seem to satisfy this requirement. The photo shows that I can see the grey Honda Jazz directly behind me and the white Skoda and the van are clearly visible on my right. The camera was held right against my eye in virtually stationary traffic (the car was using adaptive radar cruise control at the time).

Surely this shows that my view is adequate. Or am I missing something?

Last edited Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:22 am | Scroll up

RE: Towing mirrors - Am I going to regret this?

in Anything Eriba-related Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:57 am
by Steve and Debbie | 1.075 Posts

I can't understand how these detailed measurements can be applied. The government website tells it much simpler:

https://www.gov.uk/towing-with-car/trail...owing-equipment

mirris.jpg - Bild entfernt (keine Rechte)

Looking at your image. I would say you cannot see down the full length of the side of the Eriba so limiting the width of view.

Steve

Puck 120 GT - Nissan Pulsar 1.5DCi
Scroll up

in Anything Eriba-related Sat Aug 29, 2020 12:51 pm
by mr_underhill | 688 Posts

Kam says... The Volvo is the same width as the Troll (virtually to the millimetre)

The Government says Fit suitable towing mirrors if your trailer or caravan is wider than the rear of your car.